Toll Free: 800-511-9293
Local: 706-860-5769

The Three Categories of Courts-Martial – General

A General Court-Martial is the most serious level of military courts, above both Summary and Special Courts-Martial. It consists of a military judge, trial counsel, defense counsel, and at least five court members. As with the other Courts-Martial, enlisted accused service members may request a court composed of at least one-third enlisted personnel.

Unless the case is one in which the death sentence could be adjudged, an officer or enlisted accused may also request trial by judge alone. A General Court-Martial may adjudge any punishment not prohibited by the UCMJ. The maximum punishment is that established for each offense under the Manual for Courts-Martial can be applied, and may include:

  • Death (for specific offenses);
  • Confinement;
  • Dishonorable or bad-conduct discharges for enlisted service members;
  • Dismissal for officers; and
  • Certain lesser punishments.

A General Court-Martial is often characterized as a felony court, and may try all persons subject to the UCMJ, including officers and midshipmen. A pretrial investigation under Article 32, UCMJ, must be conducted before any case may be referred to a General Court-Martial, unless waived by the accused service member.

Related posts

Recent Argument

I had the honor of arguing the case of United States v. Eppes at...

Valor Radio

While in NY recently, I had the privilege of appearing on the radio show...


I see more and more cases with service members who have either PTSD and/or...

Why I do what I do

As a defense attorney, I am frequently asked how I can represent people I...

Shaken Baby Syndrome

This is an interesting article on “Shaken Baby Syndrome.”  I have represented numerous service...

Varieties of Courts-Martial

Summary Court-Martial – Trial by summary court-martial provides a simplified process for the resolution...

Court-Martial Appeals

Following a conviction at court-martial, a service member has several rights with regards the...

Judicial Review and You

Known as “Judicial Review,” federal courts are empowered with the authority to review decisions...

Happy Veterans Day 2011

Today, Friday, November 11, 2011, our nation comes together to celebrate and thank veterans...

Comments are currently closed.